Piesta ni San Juan can be traced back to 1614 when a parish, dedicated to San Juan Bautista, was created in Parian, Cebu. The magnificent church of San Juan stood where the Parian Fire Station is now. A chapel right beside it stands as a small memento of that grand edifice of devotion.
During the day of the fiesta, a mass was held at the San Juan Chapel near the Parian Fire Station, and after, the procession. A dinner was then held at the Casa Gorordo Museum Garden. Present during the dinner are Gabii sa Kabilin partners and Museum friends.
We continue to hold the fiesta tradition every June 24 with the Parian community.
Viva San Juan!
Casa Gorordo Museum is a program of the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. (RAFI) under its Culture & Heritage Unit which aims to promote enjoyment, awareness, and sharing of local culture to the world. One of the Philippines’ largest social development organizations, RAFI is working in the fields of leadership, education development, cancer awareness, culture, disaster prevention and response, and micro-finance. To know more about RAFI and its programs, visit